The Tactician

I decided to mark my return with a small excerpt from a fiction book I'm writing. It was very fun to write, and I may post more of it as I edit the rest. Please tell me what you think.

The Tactician
Prolougue: Meeting Lyn

Strategist by trade. It sounds odd, but that’s me. At the head of every battle, the one who advises the charge isn’t the lazy generals, nor is it the captain. It’s the tactician. That’s what I do. My job is to study strategy, research previous campaigns, analyze possible openings, and exploit them. Or, that’s what I would do if anyone hired me. While I do detest war, I still need food. In fact, I hadn’t seen a town or a decent meal in about a week. “I’m starving!” I moaned, lying on the grass. I picked up a handful and ate it, but it didn’t affect the hunger. At some point, I must have passed out; I woke up hours later in a small house I’d never seen before. That’s where I met Lyn, and my life changed forever.

“What the-?” Okay, I’ll admit it; the first thing I noticed about my surroundings was…the smell of food. Edible food, not the grass I’d been eating for the past week and a half. “Food?” A girl living in the hut was stooped over a pot boiling on a fire. “Oh, you’re awake! I found you out on the plains while I was looking for food, so I dragged you back here.” The girl had long brown hair pulled back in a ponytail falling down her back. “Ah. You have my sincerest thanks. My name is-“ grrwwwllll….. “Oh.” The girl looked alarmed. “How long has it been since you ate!?” “About four hours? I ate some grass and a few weeds today. I can’t go buy food, and my lance broke, and my spare one’s gone, so I can’t get food myself.” The girl looked wary at “lance”. “You’re a mercenary?” Awkward silence ensued.