Deluge (Work in Progress)

Well, I've decided that I want to start writing again and in deciding this I have come up with a concept for a new story.

I have not made up my mind as to whether or not this story is going to be a full blown novel or if I will keep it as a short story. But what I do know is that I am going to try writing this in a way that I have never written before. But before I get into the technical stuff I suppose I should give a summary on what this story is going to be about.

The world in Deluge is very different to the world we know today. In a not too distant future every scientists worst nightmare has come true and the polar ice caps have melted due to global warming, blanketing the entirety of North America in water. The story of Deluge revolves around a man by the name of David Lausam who among many others in this overnight disaster has been separated from his family and chronicles his journey to find them as well as the other things he finds along the way.

I suppose the big deal about this project is that I am going to write this story without any sort of planning or pre-writing from start to finish, fleshing out the story as I go. I plan on doing little to no editing after the story is complete and then publishing it online. The reason for this is that I am trying to shake my perfectionist ways that always seem to deter me from finishing any sort of story that I start.

Unfortunately I don't have any passages or anything to share today, but like my Celestial topic I plan on posting updates on my progress as I write the story with samples and previews.

Just thought I'd inform you all that I'm on to my next crazy idea. lol
I have to say that I completely sympathize with you, Roan, in regards to combating perfectionism. Its been so long since I've created anything that hasn't been for work or school, I feel in some ways with education and exposure to more art I've lost an ability to be satisifed with my own work.